The Inner Voice

After trying to think clearly about any and everything I could see around me for well over a day, I gave up. I gave up trying to understand what the people all around me were going through by the look of their face. I gave up trying to look at the world as they were looking at it right then.

I gave up because I thought giving up was easy.

I gave up because I thought it would free me.

I gave up because I thought I could make myself better by giving up/

Or maybe, just maybe, I wanted to give up on everything and this was just the start.

I have often wondered what kept me going through all the times I was low. Suicidal.
I have often wondered what keeps other people going when they face tough times. When they feel low.
I mean, there must be different things that keep different people going on in different places at different times.

I believed I’d get different answers. I was almost certain that I’d find my inspiration to not give up in the answers I was seeking.

I realized it was just one thing.

That voice.
The one inside of you.
Your true self.

The voice, no matter how feeble keeps hovering inside you mind telling you what you really want to do. What you really want to live for.

The voice that stays in your head even when you world, as you know it, has abandoned you.

Life is about many things.

To me it is food, love, music and struggle.
To you it may be anything.

But there is one thing it is for all of us.

It’s ours.

Just like that voice. That inner voice.

Leave a Reply

